The 4th International MANGA Award


The winners of the 4th International MANGA Award have been selected

The International MANGA Award was established in May 2007. This time it received 189 entries from 39 countries and regions all over the world (Note 1).

Introduction is click the title.

Gold Award (the best work)

Name of Work:

Si loin et si proche・・・

(Published in Belgium)
Name of Artist: Xiao Bai(China)

Story: XiAO TiAN, a university student living her dormitory life in Beijing, meets her son coming from the future. They share their views on friendship, love, their future, etc.Preview

Silver Award

Name of Work:

Face cachée

(Published in France)
Name of Artist: Olivier Martin (France)
Name of Author:Sylvain Runberg (France)

Story: Another side of businessmen’s life in Japan including the scenes of work, family, and romance.Preview

Name of Work:

La Isla sin Sonrisa

(Published in Spain)
Name of Artist: Enrique Fernández(Spain)

Story: A silent geologist depressed by the sorrow of losing his family relaxes his emotional tension by encountering a high spirited girl in an isolated island.Preview

Name of Work:


(Published in Thailand)
Name of Artist: VERACHAI DUANGPLA (Thailand)

Story: Short stories concerning instructive episodes and social satires of Thailand through the eyes of a Thai boy.Preview

Bronze Award

Name of Work:


(Published in USA)
Name of Artist:Abby Denson(USA)

Name of Work:


(Published in Belgium)
Name of Artist:Little Thunder(China)

Name of Work:

The little polar bear

(Published in Taiwan)
Name of Artist:CHANG Fung-Chih(Taiwan)

Name of Work:


(Published in Thailand)
Name of Artist:AKEKARAT MILINTAPAS(Thailand)

Name of Work:

The passionate sword

(Published in Thailand)
Name of Artist:YEH Yu Tung(Taiwan)
Name of Author:SYU SHU HAO(Taiwan)

Name of Work:


(Published in France)
Name of Artist:Frédéric GENET(Belgium)
Name of Author:Jean-François DI GIORGIO(France)

((Note 1) The countries and of the artists in numerical order of entries are: Thailand /Brazil (28 each), Belgium / Spain (14 each), Kazakhstan (11), and others.

A ceremony will be held in February or March.

【The 4th International MANGA Award Executive Committee】

Executive Committee Chairman: Mr. Seiji Maehara, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan
Committee Members:  Mr. Kazuo Ogura, President of the Japan Foundation; Mr. Yasuki Hamano, Professor, The University of Tokyo;  Mr. Kotaro Sugiyama, Senior Vice President, Dentsu Inc.; Mr. Osamu Kamei, Director, Shogakukan Inc.;  Ms. Saya Shiraishi, Professor, The University of Tokyo

Jury President: Ms. Machiko Satonaka (MANGA artist)
Members: Mr. Monkey Punch (MANGA artist), Mr. Takao Yaguchi (MANGA artist), Mr. Yoriaki Yakubo (former MANGA magazine editor), Mr. Hiroyuki Yoshitome (former MANGA magazine editor)

【Primary Selection Committee】
Committee Members: Jusshakai (Akita Publishing Co., Kadokawa Shoten Publishing Co., Kodansha Ltd., Shueisha Inc., Shogakukan Inc., Shonen-gahosha Co., SHINCHOSHA Publishing Co., Hakusensha Inc., Futabasha Publishers Ltd., LEED Publishing Co.)

Since the 1st International MANGA Award, the trophy has been designed by Taku Sato.